I’ve seen another batch of these messages similar to the free make up scams, where an application tells you that you can track who’s been looking at your Facebook Profile.
Update: New one seen today called Facestalkers – exactly the same thing, the name might change but the song remains the same.
This is fake, its a scam.
I’ve not clicked on it myself but I am pretty certain that it takes you to an advertising page or to a fake page after asking if it can access your Facebook account and then reposts messages from your account, I’ve seen two types of messages per person so far.
This is how I know its fake.
From the Facebook help page.
Every so often these applications appear insisting that they can inform you of who has looked at your Facebook profile and they catch people out as people would like to know, but as I’ve shown you from the above statements, Facebook do not allow this, they have actually make it technically impossible they say.
There are also now Facebook pages and groups stating the same things – they are obviously also fake.
Facebook security posted this.
These pages and groups and applications have many names Profile keepers is the lastest one I’ve seen but there are loads, all claiming to tell you who’s checked, stalked, read, viewed your Facebook Profile.
So, the answer is ……. NO, you cannot see who has been looking at your Facebook Profile page.
Don’t click on these links, it just fuels the virus.
If you already got caught out by a scam like this then these instructions from Facebook will remove it
If your account has been taken over and used to send spam, you should follow these steps immediately:
If you can’t reset your password because the email address you use to log in has changed, or if your account has been disabled, visit our help page.
Make sure you have up-to-date security software on your computer, run a scan, and remove any malicious files. If you don’t do this, and your computer is infected, your account may be taken over again. If you don’t yet have protection for your computer, you can download a complimentary six-month subscription of McAfee security software. Learn more on the Software tab.
Application and Plugins › General Application Support: Adding, displaying, and removing applications
You can remove an application you have allowed from the Applications You Usepage. To get to that page, follow these steps:
- Go to the Privacy Settings page from the “Account” drop-down menu located at the top of any page on Facebook.
- Click the “Edit your settings” link under the Applications and Websites section towards the bottom of the page.
- Click on the application you’d like to remove. If you don’t see the application listed, you can find it by clicking the Edit Settings button towards the top right-hand side of the page.
- You’ll then see an expanded view of your settings for that application. From here, you can click the “Remove application” link. Once you confirm you’d like to remove the application, it will no longer have access to your data and be removed from your profile, bookmarks, and your Applications and Games Dashboards
Update – I’ve seen two new ones today !! both saying you can see who your facebook stalkers are …..don’t fall for it people!
Hope this helps