Google+
Thursday , 24 July 2014
You are here: Home » Scams » Facebook video scam puts convincing personal message on your wall

Facebook video scam puts convincing personal message on your wall

More scams ….

I got this today – on my Facebook wall – shared by one of my friends, you might think it is authentic as it had my name in it.

It shows the link as a blogspot address which if you look at it – doesn’t look too real – UYTUTIUYUIUIOU looks like someone had a heart attack at the keyboard.

There is usually a telltale sign that says its a fake share – that is it on this one, apart from the fact it has a possible explicit picture beside the message.  There was another similar one recently with a different picture.

Hey Michelle u wont believe!  I dare you to watch this

98% Of People Cant Watch This Video For More Than 25 Seconds

I checked others that were shared and they had different messages but all with a personal touch.

Amazing! dave check the sad post I dare you can watch this .
Hey! kevin u wont believe! I dare you can watch this .

And so on …..

Obviously this is a scam, but a bit of a clever one – it tricks you into thinking that your friend has actually seen this video by using your name.  And it first makes you share the “video” before you’ve even seen it.   There is no video – but eventually a survey scam for you to fill out so that you pay the scammers.

Don’t be fooled into clicking this link ……

I think the fact that you shared this to all of your friends is enough fun for the scammers and there probably isn’t any actual hacking going on but as always I suggest…

As precaution check your allowed applications.

Go to your Privacy Settings,  Apps and Websites – Edit Settings – Apps you use – and check which apps that you have allowed.

Also change your password.

Hope this helps

About Michelledh

Lover of Social Media/Networking, Digital comms, technology, computing, blogging, gadgets, music, and art. Modifying a written novel.
  • Nehasrivastava

    i removed all the apps, changed my password, did the malware scanning(quickheal, no virus or malware was found) n still the spam link is being posted under my name through my account……finally i deactivated my account. please help me, this is really putting me off!

    • http://michelleharris.posterous.com/ michelledh

      Hi, That is very strange – You deactivated your account …. well that should do it.  Was it this scam that was still posting? 

  • Pingback: Facebook video scam puts convincing personal message on your wall | Positively Social | Scoop.it

  • Pocketgodenthusiast

    Facebook temporarily blocked my account when I tried to log-in using our laptop, thus preventing me from posting. But I noticed that when I used the desktop computer, I stopped posting those pesky spam messages!

    • Michelledh

      Thats weird! how is it now, did you stop it?

  • Monadecaminada

    just a note that there is a fake person on face book named “betty blassingame”.  This person appears to be a mid-twenties young white girl.  her picture posted has her on a swing, wearing blue jeans and a pink sweater.  SHE IS A TOTAL FRAUD AND I BELIEVE MAY WORK WITH “OTEHRS” that you’re not wanting to deal with.  That’s all I will say.  She tries to go through friends (and “she” could be anyhbody” to get to your account.  stay away.

Scroll To Top
Google+