Email hacker Simon Ashton is it a Hoax ?

Simon Ashton must be a famous email hacker by now!

I was shocked and surprised to receive in my email a hacker hoax that has been going around since 1995 – Do you remember those? Every other email in your Hotmail box was a FW of spam!  Lots of spam!  NOW this virus warning email has made its way to my Gmail, and I don’t like that. 

The email says

VERY URGENT – PLEASE READ – NOT A JOKE

IF A PERSON CALLED SIMON ASHTON ( SIMON25@HOTMAIL.CO.UK ) CONTACTS YOU THROUGH EMAIL DON’T OPEN THE MESSAGE. DELETE IT BECAUSE HE IS A HACKER!!

TELL EVERYONE ON YOUR LIST BECAUSE IF SOMEBODY ON YOUR LIST ADDS HIM THEN YOU WILL GET HIM ON YOUR LIST. HE WILL FIGURE OUT YOUR ID COMPUTER ADDRESS, SO COPY AND PASTE THIS MESSAGE TO EVERYONE EVEN IF YOU DON’T CARE FOR THEM AND FAST BECAUSE IF HE HACKS THEIR EMAIL HE HACKS YOUR MAIL TOO!!!!!…..

Anyone-using Internet mail such as Yahoo, Hotmail, AOL and so on. This information arrived this morning, Direct from both Microsoft and Norton. Please send it to everybody you know who has access to the Internet. You may receive an apparently harmless e-mail titled ‘Mail Server Report’

If you open either file, a message will appear on your screen saying: ‘It is too late now, your life is no longer beautiful.’

Subsequently you will LOSE EVERYTHING IN YOUR PC,
And the person who o sent it to you will gain access to your name, e-mail and password.

This is a new virus which started to circulate on Saturday afternoon. AOL has already confirmed the severity, and the anti virus software’s are not capable of destroying it .

The virus has been created by a hacker who calls himself ‘life owner’..

PLEASE SEND A COPY OF THIS E-MAIL TO ALL YOUR FRIENDS, And ask them to
PASS IT ON IMMEDIATELY!

Photo by Ciccio Pizzettaro c/o Flickr Creative Commons

Firstly the warning didn’t arrive this morning, from Microsoft and Norton, this email is 15 years old at least!  And there is no way that Simon Ashton can hack you from adding you to his list.   Its absolute rubbish. If this guy ever even existed he’s probably retired by now! Lol This is just a bogus hacker warning that does nothing but get in the way.

No one knows why this started, some say hackers just did it for a laugh to see how far they could fool people, others say its a great way to gain email addresses, if everyone sends it too everyone in their contacts list. However, its so old now, its probably not being used for anything at all. 

Don’t forward on these things, they are annoying pieces of spam. It doesn’t help anyone, if you want to watch out for warnings – bookmark my website!

If you get this email or similar, tell the person that sent it that is it a hoax and direct them to here so they can read for themselves.

I don’t think hackers are particularlly worried about email any more, they are far more busy with our social networking sites.

The only way to gain access to your accounts are via your password – they get this by either just guessing, sending bogus messages so you enter your password (phishing) or via keystroke capturing. Which can also come from bogus messages/links.

Remember never forward or click any links that you are not sure about.  Google it first, Google is your friend :)

Hope this helps

 

Photos by Ciccio Pizzettaro c/o Flickr Creative Commons

 

 

Warning! Twitter Scam – Is this blog about you?

There is another Phishing scam going around Twitter.  This is similar to the “Is this you in this picture”  and “Is this you in this video”

You get a DM asking Is this blog about you with a link – here is the one I revived today.

People are saying that when you click the link it takes you to a twitter log in page, it then takes over your account and sends out DM’s to your friends from your twitter account.

Think before you click!

The danger is that these DM’s are from friends and you don’t think about it when you click as you wonder – ooh am I featured in a blog?

If you have clicked on this, you need to change your password immediately and try to warn the people that you have DM’d not to click the link.  I sent a message to the above account to tell this this is happening, as that is the other problem, you don’t actually realise right away that it is happening.

Update – I’ve also received the “This gotta be you in this picture” scam today …

He realised soon enough and sent out this message to say he was hacked

Same as above, change password!

Hope this helps.